a time to reset

New year, new me – it’s one of the most common phrases and hashtags you’ll see when a new year comes. But what defines a “new me”?  What happens to the “old me”?

These questions provoke me to ponder on the things, traditions for example, that people do do (lol, doodoo) before they ring in the new year, and thus, get rid of their “old me”, or at least parts of it. Clean their house/room, buy round fruit (a Filipino tradition), get a new haircut, buy an outfit, wash their car, make a resolutions list, cut ties with friends that no longer give them life, quit a bad habit, go to confession, forgive, forget, and let go.

And then there’re those people who will challenge you and say –

“why do you need a new year to improve yourself? you can do this any day.”

Which is true. But there’s something symbolic about a new year that motivates people to change their ways, and hopefully for the better. Anyway and anyhow, whatever works, I think pressing the reset button, whenever necessary, is always good.

2016 was an amazing year for me, to say the very, very least. It was challenging and it really shaped me to be the 30 yr old that I am today. As much as I want to hold on to the sentiment of the year that was, I’m happy to let it all go if it means also letting go of all the difficulties and hurts I faced that year. It certainly wasn’t all pretty. If anything, it was probably 50/50. But don’t get me wrong, I feel incredibly blessed. God provided for me, in the smallest and biggest ways, and everything in between, last year. And I will share these stories here in the near future.

But here I am, new year, new me. Kind of. I’m not sure about everyone else, but I’m totally jumping on that reset bandwagon. I wish I could say that I did most of those things/traditions that I listed above earlier, to be rid of some parts of the “old me”, but I didn’t. And that’s ok, because God is patient and ever faithful. He promises us the best which doesn’t come easy and takes a lot of hard work.

Now 2017 and the future awaits, where His promise lies ahead. And I am so ready.

Are you?

image
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander.

May you all have a blessed and prosperous new year.

Love and blessings, M.

Leave a Reply

