a time to be sick

This one will be a short one. Mainly because, as the title suggests, I’ve been sick this week and I haven’t put much introverted thought into this blog.

Today a friend of mine wanted to finish off my drink, to which I quickly responded with a warning saying “Oh no! I’m sick!”. She just shrugged it off and then said something about accepting the consequences of suffering, if it happens. And although she said with a whimsical tone in her voice, I knew she half meant it. This wasn’t a surprise to me, she’s one of the strongest people I know.

But ain’t that just the truth. There’s something humbling about being sick. And when it happens to us, our body doesn’t really give us much of a choice but to just give up (our pride) and let things take its course. We try so hard to control it with medication, but sometimes it takes us right off track in life.

Plus, if that didn’t hurt our pride enough, this will – asking for help. I become at my most neediest when I’m sick. Thank goodness this bout of sickness wasn’t too intense, so I wasn’t too needy (says my pride). But I still couldn’t do the things I wanted to do for myself, which sucked.

Nevertheless, I learn the same lesson, again and again. The suffering and the struggle, it humbles me. And because of that, I need Him more. So when our body gives up and we get sick, it’s a timely reminder that we are human, and ultimately, He’s in control.

Just let go and let God.

Tend your sick ones, O Lord Christ.
Rest your weary ones.
Bless your dying ones.
Soothe your suffering ones.
Pity your afflicted ones.
Shield your joyous ones.
And for all your love’s sake. Amen
– Saint Augustine

Take care, friends – M.

Leave a comment