a time to write

A mate of mine who is a talented writer/blogger recently asked me to type up a piece for her blog about a particular experience I had. I don’t want to ruin any surprises so I wont reveal too much about it. However, I will say that it was about an experience I have subconsciously tried to suppress deep in my mind and wish to never relive ever again.

Why you ask? Because it was about a boy. Hahaha.

But, as tough as it was to recall, I have no regrets. Feeling quite honoured for the opportunity, I also found it a blessing in disguise. It had brought up a lot of hurtful memories but also a lot of really fun ones. It may have even brought some butterflies to my stomach. 🙂

Anyway, it was a blessing because while writing this requested piece, it reminded me of the joy and the fruits of writing.

While I was travelling through Europe last year with some good mates, a lot of them tried to find time to journal. Whether it was during transit, or before bed time, or while inside a church/landmark, or any spare time we had, I often saw my travel mates busily scribbling down on their journals. It was an important part of their journey as it helped them digest and process all the different experiences they were going through. I, however, really struggled with journaling. I even bought a tiny notebook to help me get started but I still couldn’t bring myself to put my thoughts and experiences unto paper. At the end of it all, photo journaling through an instagram account is what I settled for. Still though, I often wondered what they wrote, and what motivated them to write.

I guess there are a lot different reasons why people write. To practice, to remember, to recall, to learn, to be a witness, to capture a moment, to go back in time.

Honestly, I never really thought of myself as a writer. I can be a bit of a grammar and spelling critic/nazi, so I had unrealistic standards on myself to be able to write well enough to post my writing in public. Obviously, with the new year turning, I’m trying to prove my harshest critic, myself, wrong. And it’s actually been quite fruitful. Mostly, it has made me realise that everyone is a writer, because everyone has a beautiful story to tell.

Why do you write? Whatever the reason is. Don’t stop, keep going. Write on, friend! As long as it comes from a beautiful place, you never know what kind of positive impact it will have on other people. And especially, on yourself.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” – Maya Angelou

Forever editing, -M.

Leave a Reply

