a time to know

I used to consider myself as an avid shoe shopper. I liked my fresh sneaks, my leather boots and my hipster office shoes. It was only in the past year that I had to let go of this “hobby” and fully realise that I only needed a good pair (or two) of each. Honestly, it still takes a massive part of my self control to tell myself “You don’t need it Mez, DON’T BUY IT.” And most of the time, it works.

But there are times when I really fall in love.. with a pair of shoes. I do my research and read reviews. I always need to justify the cost by its value. But no matter how many articles you read, or reviews you compare, or YouTube videos you watch, you will never really know until you try it – and then you’ll know.

“When you know, you know.”

It seems so simple right? Like, duh, when you know, you know! But this never really made sense to me when my bestfriend used to say it about her boyfriend. I still remember her telling me he was “the one” #dawun. And I always asked how she knew and she always responded with “I just know.” I could only fully relate to it when she used “finding the right pair of shoes” as an analogy.

Today my bestfriend turns 28 and it also happens to be 2 months until she marries her, now fiancé, the one that she just knew would be #dawun.

A2E60871-E48F-4733-A0FD-FF66042DE439

A few of months back we went on a search for her wedding dress. After some research, I picked out three shops based on reviews (my usual process) and I just had to trust this “When you know, you know” instinct that she had. It wasn’t looking too promising after the first and second shop, so when we got to the final shop I just hoped we would find the right dress otherwise we’d have to do this day all over again. But alas, after a few dresses, we found it. We really did find the one. We just knew that that was it. I was almost in tears. And then eventually the tears rolled down because I realised that the feeling of knowing you found the right dress must be nothing compared to the feeling of knowing you found the right person that you’re going to spend the rest of your life with.

Happy birthday to you, my best friend. I am so incredibly happy for you. I can’t wait to see you walk down that aisle. Thank you for choosing me to have front row seats to the beginning of the rest of your life.

I’m sure he knows how blessed he is. Your love for him is so unconditonal, it sometimes makes me cringe #grossaffectionandstuff. But I know that love could only truly come from the best example of Love that He showed us.

Nae nae, I’m so glad you finally found the one. I honestly can’t wait to fully comprehend “knowing”. But until then, I’ll take your word for it. 😉 (And I hope he’s spoiling you with that corn and cheese that you requested. :))

Happy birthday! I hope this blog makes up for my absence during your birthday this year. ❤

MOHMEZ. x

“I found him whom my soul loves.” Song of Songs 3:4

Ps. I may or may not use this for my MOH speech.

Pps. Sorry readers, long time no blog. Too busy with life. God is good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

